Hello, goodbye.

I have just moved out of Edinburgh. Forever. I don’t think it has fully hit me yet. Edinburgh has been the first stop in my independent, almost grown-up life. This is where I’ve learnt that moving to a foreign country is not as easy as it seems (and that, quite frankly, it’s a rather traumatic experience), but that it is worth every single minute it; and that you cannot really run away from yourself, no matter how far you go or how hard you try; and that the world is full of so many different people that you don’t have to try to fit in anywhere, as there always will be someone compatibly quirky; and that the more diverse your closest circle, the better; and all sorts of other truisms that you are aware of, but don’t fully realise when you’re nineteen and freshly out of a small town in Poland (no matter how well-travelled and well-read you are then).

Edinburgh is where I have been very, very happy and very, very unhappy, and where all sorts of important things have happened to me. As cheesy as it sounds, I would have been someone completely different if I chose to spend the past four years of my life somewhere else. You know how it goes, born in the forrest, made in Edinburgh.

Stretched over by the (alleged) summer, filled with my first full-time job and unexpected acquaintances, the Edinburgh chapter came to an end. Time to move. Since ends are also beginnings, next stop – Moscow. For now, however – my last postcard from Edinburgh: the staircases. Edinburgh is an extremely picturesque city, photographed by millions of tourists and professional photographers every year. For me the landscape of Edinburgh is constituted by its staircases: dim, winding and absolutely unique. Just before moving out I tried to capture some of them, and here are the effects:

3 Hope Park Crescent, my home for 2 years
3 Hope Park Crescent, my home for 2 years

3 Hope Park Crescent again
3 Hope Park Crescent again

Usher's Hall
Usher’s Hall

Usher's Hall
Usher’s Hall

Buccleugh street
Buccleugh street

One of the closes off the Royal Mile
One of the closes off the Royal Mile

I will greatly miss Edinburgh. In fact, I miss it already. At the same time, I am aware that the Edinburgh I know is mostly gone with all of my friends who left. Staying any longer would feel like a Peter Pan attempt to prolong something that is irreversibly gone. Therefore – it’s time to move. Stay tuned, off we go!

One thought on “Hello, goodbye.

Leave a Reply

